‘Tis the season (for Google Live Updates)

December 14, 2009 at 4:48 pm 4 comments

‘Tis also the season for Christmas carols on the radio (already? Really, guys?) and animated snow on WordPress’s login page. (I swear to God I’ll switch over to Blogger if they pull that next year.)

Google recently unveiled their Updates feature, which is pretty if not spectacularly useful.
An impressive demonstration is the results for Christmas. I think this, better than any Internet-stats page I’ve ever seen, shows the sheer size of the Web, and specifically Twitter. People are tweeting about Christmas as fast as I can read it, and there’s still more than a week to go. (So seriously, cut it out with the carols.)

78 exabytes is a big number (thanks, Discover!), but it doesn’t drive home the personal aspect as well as the buzz of live Twitter updates does. Of course, it’ll be noisier still as the week progresses…

Fun fact: I’m actually Jewish, but Hanukkah doesn’t generate quite the same buzz for some reason.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

SI units: because 9,192,631,770 is such a round number Nerdy Comic!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Geekthras  |  December 28, 2009 at 2:38 am

    Hey do you remember #us and keep irc logs? if so, please see if you can dig out the topics of #0 through.. everything? pleeeeeeeeease?

    Reply
    • 2. Daedalus  |  December 28, 2009 at 2:11 pm

      Oh! Yeah, I remember it — #us was pretty awesome.
      All my logs are on the other computer, so I’ll post those topics in a new comment if I find them.

      Reply
  • 3. Daedalus  |  December 28, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    @Geekthras: here we go!
    http://pastebin.ca/1729826 has everything I could find. Unfortunately, I don’t remember any of the passwords, and I didn’t record them.

    Reply
  • 4. BJN  |  January 28, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    I really like the stuff that you write, but this isn’t really weekly. It would be better if it was. See you around!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Human Souls

wordpress visitor counter souls and counting...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

