Blog? What blog? Go ‘way and lemme read.

November 21, 2008 at 4:47 pm Leave a comment

Wow, a week? You’re joking.

So, I’m still breathing, and Fublag is still alive. I’ve just been reading a lot…

First of all: The Host by Stephanie Meyer. Yes, author-of-Twilight Stephanie Meyer.
In my defense, The Host is one of the best science fiction novels I’ve read this year. It’s also a satanically addictive page-turner — I don’t think I’ve gotten more than 6 or 7 hours of sleep a night this week, and my workload’s been light. The book claims to be Meyer’s “first novel written for adults”, which probably explains a lot.

The setting is a classical alien-parasite invasion, but from the parasites’ point of view. It doesn’t sound promising, I know, but it’s well worth whatever issues you may have with reading a book by a popular mainstream teen-romance-novel writer. (I’m going heavy on the hyphens today, aren’t I?) The first two or three chapters are probably enough to get a taste for what makes this book so good (Amazon’s Look Inside feature is great), but the middle-to-end portion is the best. (more hyphens!)

I finally finished it last night, but unfortunately it’s not all that I’ve been glued to. I found The World Turned Upside Down, a collection of classic sci-fi stories. A few chapters are online here.

I’ve read “Black Destroyer”, “A Pail of Air”, “Thy Rocks and Rills”, and “Rescue Party”. They’re all brilliant, and the collection includes “The Last Question” by Asimov, which most of my readers (do I have enough for a well-defined majority?) have probably read before. If you haven’t yet, read it now.

Finally, I’ve been digging through Sam Hughes’…..
…hold on, there’s water dripping onto my router.

[SOME TIME LATER]
Thanks for waiting, looks like that’s taken care of. As I was saying, Sam Hughes.

I started with the Ed stories, which begin as funny, stupid joke stories and finish off as surprisingly good amateur sci-fi.

I’m on to Tyro now, which is a 50,000 word novel pasted into a webpage. That’s most of a Harry Potter book. It’s good, but not amazing. “Time Loop”, “The Vending Machine Murders”, and “The Message” are very short, and very funny. “The Gorge”, “Film Maker”, and “The Difference” especially are a bit longer but well worth the time.

So, that’s why I haven’t been blogging. Expect a real post later, or maybe tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

A Consistent, Simple Model of Time Travel An ‘A’ made out of ‘B’s made out of ‘C’s made out of ‘D’s

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Human Souls

wordpress visitor counter souls and counting...

