An ‘A’ made out of ‘B’s made out of ‘C’s made out of ‘D’s

November 30, 2008 at 9:22 pm 5 comments

First: note to xkcdling readers: it’ll be easiest to follow my blag from my sig. I’ll update for each new post, so you can just click over here :D. And now, your feature presentation:

It’s a bit large (768×768), but I made a 192×192 preview:
letternesting
In the upper left, as you can see, I have the templates I used for all three letters. The Cs are used as black pixels for the Bs, with 6×6 empty squares for white pixels. The Bs are similarly used to make the A.

But you didn’t come here for a three-layer capital letter. Oh no. After weeks of careful planning (read: inexcusable laziness), I have finally created my masterpiece! (time: 2/3 of a Simpsons episode)
letternesting_large
Clicky for full-size. You can’t see the ‘D’s from this scale. As you’ll notice, I made the Ds and Cs 4×4 instead of the 5×5 pixels of the smaller one. This way, the whole thing juuuust barely doesn’t fit on your 1024×768 screen resolution. Seriously, use 1280×1024.

But I don’t have a large enough monitor! The native resolution is only 600×800!
Oh, cool! My first imaginary reader a la Ray Kurzweil!
Shit, I don’t need to have character development, do I?
Awww, it’s inherited my work ethic.
Can I ask you a question?
Sure. In fact, ask another.
Why did you make an exactly 768×768 image if there’s no convenient way to make it fit on a 1024×768 display?
The binary gods bless those who use even multiples of large powers of two. Do not question the gods! (That’s a link to a funny comic. Not relevant, just funny.)

One last thing: “letternesting” is an anagram of “real interesting”.

…you actually checked? Nerd. (The ‘a’ is a dead giveaway.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Blog? What blog? Go ‘way and lemme read. “Eden”: Sci-Fi meets religious fiction

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anon  |  December 8, 2008 at 4:36 am

    Hah, that’s pretty cool. You just need to get started on your true masterpiece now: As made of Bs made of Cs made of Ds made of Es ….. Zs ;)

    I wonder how large that would be?

    Reply
  • 2. fublag  |  December 8, 2008 at 7:15 am

    Well, assuming it’s impossible to get smaller than 4×4 pixel letters…
    5^26=1.5 quintillion pixels in each dimension. On a one-foot wide, 1280×1024 monitor, that’s an image 2,370 times the distance from the Earth to the Sun – in each direction.

    Reply
  • 3. existential_elevator  |  December 19, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    You just broke my brain. I hope you’re happy.

    Reply
  • 4. hazardouspaste  |  March 15, 2009 at 11:28 am

    I enjoyed this.

    Reply
  • 5. hazardouspaste  |  March 15, 2009 at 11:34 am

    By the way; you could call it a “fractalphabet.” Hah…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Human Souls

wordpress visitor counter souls and counting...

